Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Best of 2013 Giveaway


We are on the very edge of 2013 now and wow, it has been an incredible year, hasn't it? There is much to celebrate, to be thankful for and to cherish. As many of you may no, I published a post about my favourite books this year, so I thought why not giveaway some books. 

I'm giving two winners a chance to pick a book that has been released in 2013. If you want some ideas check out my Best of 2013 list!

This is open to everyone as long as The Book Depository ships to you. Simply fill out the Rafflecopter below.
**Giveaway Closed**

Good luck to you all and I hope you have a brilliant New Year!
Sam :)

Monday, 30 December 2013

My review of If I Lie

If I Lie by Corrine Jackson 
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

If I LieQuinn’s done the unthinkable: she kissed a guy who is not Carey, her boyfriend. And she got caught. Being branded a cheater would be bad enough, but Quinn is deemed a traitor, and shunned by all of her friends. Because Carey’s not just any guy—he’s serving in Afghanistan and revered by everyone in their small, military town.

Quinn could clear her name, but that would mean revealing secrets that she’s vowed to keep—secrets that aren’t hers to share. And when Carey goes MIA, Quinn must decide how far she’ll go to protect her boyfriend…and her promise.

If I Lie is one of those books that you read and can't forget about. It has a unique and interesting story line that isn't like other YA contemporaries. A few pages in and I was hooked. I couldn't put it down and I cried... a lot. I'm warning you not to read this book in public if you cry easily over sad situations.

If I Lie is set in a small town where volunteering for the military is a pretty big deal and seen as something that many should do. Quinn's boyfriend, Carey, decides to enter the army, and while he's gone, Quinn makes a mistake. She kisses someone who is not Carey, and she gets caught. A few days later and the photo is everywhere, but no one can see the guy she's kissing and Quinn would prefer not to drag someone down with her. She's now a cheater, a traitor and a slut in the eyes of those who use to be her 'friends'. What they don't know about Quinn is that she's innocent, but that would involve telling them a secret of Carey's that she promised not to share. 

I loved the idea of there being this secret that could not be shared because it would betray someone, yet if it is not shared, someone has to suffer. Jackson writes amazingly and draws your attention in after you've only read a few pages. She also has a subtle way of giving hints that just makes you want to power on to find out the secret.

I cried constantly through the book. I started reading the book at night and I spent a lot of time crying and sobbing, then the next morning I was on the bus and followed the exact same routine. (Thank God the bus was empty, otherwise the people around me might have thought I was having a major break down.) 

Quinn was actually a lovely character, who has been through a lot in her life and did not deserve to be persecuted by her friends. Her mother ran off with her uncle when she was younger, her dad ignores her all the time because she reminds him of her mother, and she's alone with no one to talk to. I wanted to put an arm around her and offer her friendship because she seemed utterly lost and alone, apart from her one friend George. He is an old man at the hospital who teaches Quinn all about photography, which is her passion. They have a cute friendship that many will admire.

I enjoyed and cherished every moment of this book because it was very well written. I thought that the characters were all great with a lot more beneath the surface, which is good because no one wants shallow, undeveloped characters, anyway. 

If I Lie is definitely one of my YA contemporary highlights because I felt that the book was realistic and easy to fall into. I was completely and utterly absorbed into it in a matter of pages! It's a book packed full of emotion and unexpected secrets. Corrine Jackson is a wonderful author and I'm keeping an eye out for more of her books.

Wednesday, 25 December 2013

Sam's Best of 2013


We have almost reached the end of 2013! 
It is time to share joy, and love, AND BOOKS!!! These are my favourites from 2013, in no particular order. (And also bearing in mind that some of these were not released in 2013, I simply read them this year, thank you :).)
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)
Release Date: March 19, 2013
A stunning conclusion to an amazing trilogy! A whole rollercoaster of emotions I can't even describe! If you love a bit of steam punk romance make sure you check out The Infernal Devices
Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)
Release Date: June 6, 2013
WOW! An absolutely exquisite high fantasy novel set in a magical world with crazy and loveable characters. I'm dying for the last book. It's going to be stunning. 
Release Date: August 15, 2013
Another high fantasy! This time about assassins. I LOVE ASSASSIN STORIES!!!! Especially when there are some great guys incorporated into it. And I've also found out that there are going to be 6 books............... YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
Deception (Defiance, #2)
Deception (Defiance #2) by C.J. Redwine
Release Date: August 27, 2013
ANOTHER high fantasy! Redwine's writing is flawless and you will not be able to put the book down, I promise. There is even a dragon. And romance. And mystery. AND PA LEN TYYY of strong and admirable heroines to look up to!
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)
Release Date: February 5, 2013
I adore fairytale retellings and Meyer's series is simply perfect. This installment tackles Red Riding Hood, and the next, Cress, will be about Rapunzel. GAAAAAH GIVE IT TO MEEE NOOW.
All Our Yesterdays
Release Date: August 1, 2013
I haven't read much time-travel books at all and when this book came along... Wow. It just blew me away.
The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)
The Fifth Wave (The 5th Wave #1) by Rick Yancey
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Did I think I was going to love and fall hard for this book? Naah. But guess what? I FREAKIN' ADORED IT SO MUCH IT'S CRAZY! If you need a sci-fi, just....... just pick this up. It is stunning.
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)
Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) by Veronica Rossi
Release Date:
January 8, 2013

Another great installment from Veronica Rossi! I love her writing style and I love the world that she has created. I'm on edge for Into the Still Blue! I need some more Aria and Perry, Roar and Liv.
The Fault in Our Stars
Release Date: January 12, 2012
*Cries* This novel is just exquisite! I've never really fell for Green's books but this one just got to me. The characters are so unique and inspirational and entertaining they won't leave your heart after you've finished, I promise. Dying for the movie.
Unbreakable (Unravelling, #2)
Unbreakable (Unravelling #2) by Elizabeth Norris
Release Date: June 6, 2013
A brilliant duo! If you want a thriller/post-apocalyptic/sci-fi. It is genuinely so cool and definitely unique. The characters are awesome and some may not be from our world...
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Release Date: September 1, 2012 (Movie edition)
I only read this book this year and it has just changed me as a person. A stunningly written novel with a heartbreaking storyline and beautifully crafted characters. Read the book, then watch the movie.
Elegy (Watersong, #4)
Elegy (Watersong #4) by Amanda Hocking
Release Date: August 6, 2013
The conclusion to the Watersong series about really badass sirens with plenty of romance and amazing characters! I have absolutely adored Daniel and Harper's relationship from the beginning. Cannot wait for some more books from Hocking!
Champion (Legend, #3)
Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu
Release Date: November 5, 2013
An absolutely stunning and beautiful conclusion that I found practically impossible to put down. It gave me so many feels, made me laugh, smile, sit on the edge of my seat, and I also cried. PICK THIS TRILOGY UP NOOOW!

You can also check out my favourites from 2012 which I posted last year right HERE!

Have a real good Christmas,
Sam :)

Waiting on Wednesday (83)


This week I'm waiting for...
The Geography of You and Me
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they're rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen's relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and -- finally -- a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith's new novel shows that the center of the world isn't necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

I've never read a book involving a long distance relationship and this simply sounds brilliant! Not to mention the fact that it's written by Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and This Is What Happy Looks Like. I've enjoyed both of her books and I can tell that this one if not going to disappoint.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 23 December 2013

My review of Shatter Me

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she'd lost forever.

Shatter Me is a unique and kickass novel told in a refreshing way that grips the reader from the beginning as we follow the thoughts of Juliette: a girl with a touch to kill. She sees it as a curse, but others see it as a power which must be put to good use. As the world is slowly falling apart, a group has to take charge and turn everything around. However, what the Reestablishment has to offer may not be what the people need.

I knew that Shatter Me would be top quality as I have read many reviews that do not stop raving about it. Mafi has a very unique and distinct writing style that I was unsure of at first but quickly grew to love it.

Not to mention the characters! I loved and adored Juliette for her strong personality and I loved her even more we find out about her past; which was certainly rough. Juliette is a likable heroine who is definitely winning in my heart as she has not easily fallen into the trap of a love triangle *ahem* Bella Swan *ahem*

Adam. Gah, I really loved his character. It was impossible not to love him! He is considerate and caring and a guy that I would definitely want in my life. For some reason, it feels like I repeat myself a lot. Whenever I talk about the love interest in a YA it always seems like I'm saying the same things "hot", "strong", "perfect", "protective", etc. I loved Adam to bits and one thing that sticks out about him for me is his protectiveness over his brother. It's simply admirable and heart-warming.

One of my favourite characters has to be Kenji who adds humor to the story. I cannot wait to see more of him in the sequel, which I've heard is a mind-blowing sequel so I'm definitely on edge fo' that.

You know what I'm really surprised at? I don't mind love triangles if they're written well, and I certainly don't mind "Teams". However... I NEVER FREAKIN' EXPECTED THAT THERE WOULD EVEN BE A TEAM WARNER?! COME ON HE'S A PSYCHOPATH, GUYS! Warner is a crazy-ass guy obsessed with a girl who hates his guts. He is just... so crazy. But what I've heard is that he gets better in the sequel. 
....................................................... Yeah. Sure. He's suddenly going to stop being psychopath, is he? Hmm? HMMMM? 
I really loved the world that Mafi created: dangerous, abandoned, cruel, unfair and controlled. She shows the world distant in the future after mankind has ruined and abused everything good. It was kickass... I'm interested all that futuristic shizz.. WE ARE RUINING OUR PLANET. Anyways, the topic of humans abusing the planet should be saved for another day.

I will definitely be picking up Unravel Me. How can I not after hearing that it's ten times better than Shatter Me? I expect more supernatural powers, more action, more mystery and more romance. No doubt I'll get more, but for now I will be marvelling at this gorgeous cover!

I would recommend Shatter Me to any dystopian world lover who also love a few supernatural, action and romance elements. 

Wednesday, 18 December 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (82)


This week I'm waiting for...
The Taking (The Taking, #1)
Release Date: April 29, 2014
A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing. 

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day. 

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men. 

Confused and lost, Kyra isn’t sure how to move forward unless she uncovers the truth. With Austin gone, she turns to Tyler, Austin’s annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover strange phenomena that no one can explain, and they begin to wonder if Kyra’s father is not as crazy as he seems. There are others like her who have been taken . . . and returned. Kyra races to find an explanation and reclaim the life she once had, but what if the life she wants back is not her own?

I love a good mystery! I haven't read one in a long while and I've heard a lot of good things about Kimberley Derting's Body Finder series, as well as really enjoying her book The Pledge. I love the sound of this.... the way everything has changed around Kyra and she wants to find out what happens... and Tyler! Ahhr, sounds so awesome.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 16 December 2013

My review of Becoming

Becoming (Project Five Fifteen #3) by Samantha Summers
Release Date: October 31, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Becoming (Project Five Fifteen #3)You can’t run from darkness. Eventually, the sun has to set.

Turning his back on the killer he was trained to be wasn’t as easy as Kalen Smith had hoped. They’d tried to run. They’d tried to hide. People had lost their lives. The wrong people. Now, driven by a thirst for revenge, Kalen and his team are preparing to take down those responsible.

But vengeance comes at a price and Ronnie can feel the boy she fell in love with slipping away from her, as the darkness he’s been running from for so long threatens to consume him. 

With danger looming in every direction, the possibility of a happy-ever-after is looking bleak, but The Agency isn’t the only obstacle in the way of Ronnie and Kalen’s future. Ronnie’s harbouring a tragic secret that isn’t hers to keep and the truth could destroy not only their relationship, but what’s left of Kalen’s humanity.

One way or another, everything is about to change...

Becoming is the final book in the Project Five Fifteen trilogy, which is full of romance and action! Summers continues to pull out tricks and twists that you couldn't expect out from the bag to deliver an explosive and addictive conclusion.

For those who do not know the trilogy very well: it is about teenage assassins. I've caught your interest now, haven't I? Majority of the story is told from the POV of Veronica who is simply an ordinary girl before she meets Kalen and his team, who are all part of an organisation that trains young assassins. The story switches to some of the other team members so we can lean more about their pasts and who they really are underneath their deadly exterior. Each have unique personalities and are 100% lovable.

There are many characters that join the story in this book which only adds to the mystery and action that the plot has to offer. We learn to love each of them, while also falling harder for Kalen and Veronica's relationship. Over the course of the trilogy, their relationship has to overcome many hurdles for them to be together and be happy. Everyone loves a bit of romance struggles.

I loved the humor and romance scenes that were put right up against the action and tense scenes, it made the novel extremely hard to put down! The author is definitely talented at writing fight scenes. There was just enough detail to imagine yet not boggle your mind. Summers has done well in showing us how a trilogy should really end: with all the knots tied up, yet leaving the overall ending to our imagination. 

Becoming is simply the most fitting conclusion to this trilogy and I'm sad to see it finished. If you haven't heard of this trilogy, make sure you check out the first and second book: First Light and As You Were! These are the most perfect books for those who are absolutely craving a thriller/romance with a storyline and characters that will not disappoint. 
A review copy was provided by the author

Sunday, 15 December 2013

Book Haul (#71)


We're getting closer and closer to Christmas!! Who's excited?
Also, if you didn't know, I celebrated my two year blogoversary yesterday. Cool right? I can't believe how fast the time has past. Definitely check out my post as I'm also hosting a giveaway. ^_^
This week I received and borrowed:
Unhinged - Chapter SamplerThe Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)
Unhinged (Splintered #2) by A.G. Howard - Received -
Thank you, Abram and Chronicles! I liked Splintered and how it extended the story of Alice in Wonderland. I can't wait to find out what happens in this. The cover looks pretty!
The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) by Richelle Mead - Borrowed -
Yesyesyesyesssss! Finally in my hands! A BOOK WITH ALTERNATING POVs!!! Adrian's mind here I come. Dayum, I've heard such good things and I'm just starting this right now.
Haze (The Rephaim, #2)Champion (Legend, #3)
Haze (The Rephaim #2) by Paula Weston - Borrowed -
I read the first book a few days ago and thought it was pretty cool! I haven't read a book about angels in a while. 
Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu - Borrowed -
I love this trilogy! I cannot believe this is the last back. Prodigy broke my heart, I'm so ready for it to be fixed in this one.
When the World Was Flat (and we were in love)Allegiant (Divergent, #3)
When the World Was Flat (And We Were in Love) by Ingrid Jonach - Borrowed -
I thought this would be a contemporary, but apparently it's a sci-fi? Well, I'm looking forward to starting this and seeing what the story is all about.
Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth - Borrowed -
Another conclusion to a trilogy! However, I'm kindaaa dreading it because I've heard the ending is annoying and painful like lemon being squeezed in your eyes (Amazing simile being used here). I will give it a go... we'll see.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/Showcase Sunday/In My Mailbox in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Saturday, 14 December 2013

Two Year Blogoversary Ramble and Giveaway


It's my blog's two year anniversary... How has this even happened? HOW HAS TIME GONE SO FAST?!?!?
It's crazy how quick time can pass. It doesn't feel that long since I was typing up my "One Year Blogoversary" post and thanking everyone for their support and interest in my blog. I'm honestly speechless and can't fathom how I've survived this far without giving up. I think it's also all of your support that pushes me forward and encourages me to carry on.

All I can really say is: Thank you tons and tons and tons and tons and tons for sharing this incredible journey with me! Thank you for being awesome followers. Thank you for simply showing an interest in my blog because, honestly from the bottom of my heart, it means so much. 

And because of you all, I will not give up! Despite the exams and everything, I will make sure I find time to review books, aid authors in promoting their books and simply sharing my passion for reading with you all.

Also, to all the lovely people who take their time to comment and leave feedback; this is all greatly appreciated and it means so much to me. Thank you. 

I think I've run out of things to say... 

For my blogoversary, I'm giving away to 3 different winners 1 book of their choice, and one separate winner will win a bunch of swag (there is a lot). The giveaway is open to anyone who lives where the Book Depository ships (which is basically internationally). I've given some ideas of some awesome books below:
Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)Pure (Covenant, #2)Deity (Covenant, #3)Apollyon (Covenant, #4)
Sentinel (Covenant, #5)Little White LiesSomeone Else's LifeSoulmates
Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy, #2)Everneath (Everneath, #1)Everbound (Everneath, #2)
Unravelling (Unravelling, #1)Unbreakable (Unravelling, #2)Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)
Carrier of the Mark (Carrier, #1)Shadow of the Mark (Carrier, #2)Defiance (Defiance, #1)Deception (Defiance, #2)
Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1)The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)
Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits, #1)Dare You To (Pushing the Limits, #2)Crash into You (Pushing the Limits, #3)The Killing of Kayla Sloane
Firelight (Firelight, #1)Vanish (Firelight)Hidden (Firelight, #3)How to Love
First Light (Project Five Fifteen #1)As You Were (Project Five Fifteen, #2)Becoming (Project Five Fifteen #3)The Summer I Became a Nerd
Wake (Watersong #1)Lullaby (Watersong, #2)Tidal (Watersong, #3)Elegy (Watersong, #4)
The Forsaken (The Forsaken, #1)The Uprising (The Forsaken, #2)What's Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles, #1)Once We Were (The Hybrid Chronicles, #2)
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3)The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)
The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5)Breathe (Breathe, #1)Resist (Breathe #2)The Moon and More
Under The Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)This Is What Happy Looks LikeThe Distance Between Us
**Giveaway Closed**
Amy F.
Swag Winner: Crochet A.

Good luck to all those that have entered!!

Thank you for being amazing,
Sam :)