Monday, 9 November 2015

My review of The Heir

The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

The Heir (The Selection, #4)Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she'd put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess's life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can't escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.


Eadlyn doesn't expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn's heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn't as impossible as she's always thought.

**Mild spoilers for the previous Selection books**

The Heir is the fourth installment in the Selection series that focuses on the next generation of royals, and more specifically Eadlyn, who must undergo the Selection to find a suitor. I was slightly surprised when I heard the series wouldn't simply end at the third book (The One) because I felt that everything had rounded off quite nicely with an ending that tied up all the storylines but also left you with a magical idea for the future. However, the author has managed to weave a storyline that works. It did feel slightly drawn out but as this is the first book I am willing to give it a chance. 

What pushed me to carry on reading this series is the fact that I knew Maxon and America would obviously appear in the story and also play a large role in it. After all, the story is about their daughter. I also came round to the idea of their being another selection as I really did enjoy reading about the process in the first few books. If you're unsure of what the selection is, basically there are 35 people competing for the heart of the heir to the throne, and in this case it is Eadlyn.

To be completely honest with you all, I didn't like Eadlyn. I didn't like her at the beginning, I didn't like her in the middle and I didn't like her at the end. To be honest she came across as bratty and selfish. I couldn't really stand her at times. The main issue that she has with her life is that she doest want to be the next Queen. She didn't asked to be born with this responsibility on her shoulders. But come on girl you've got to get on with it and stop sulking. She also like to use her title when telling off others, "you can't speak to me that way I'm a royal." Not an exact quote but gives you an idea of what she's like.
What kept me reading on was the storyline. I wanted to get to know and meet the suitors! I wanted to see what they had to offer the princess and how charming they could be in her presence. However I really do hope the story picks up a bit more in the next few books and that our darling Eadlyn learns to grow up. I'm quite interested to see who she will end up with as she has so many options.

On a side note, no you do not have to read the previous books to read the Heir. It will definitely give you more insight into the characters and give a better feel for what the selection is like, but it is not compulsory.

Previous books reviews: The Selection (#1), The Elite (#2), The One (#3)
Rating

Friday, 30 October 2015

My review of Pierre the Maze Detective: The Search for the Stolen Maze Stone

Pierre the Maze Detective: The Search for the Stolen Maze Stone by IC4DESIGN, Hiro Kamigaki
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Pierre the Maze Detective: The Search for the Stolen Maze StonePierre the Maze Detective has a new case. Mr X has stolen the Maze Stone, which has the power to turn the whole of Opera City into a maze. Can you help Pierre and his friend Carmen find their way through the mazes – and stop Mr X before it's too late? This beautifully illustrated book features 15 full-spread illustrations of intricate, magical mazes. Take a trip through a fantastic world of underground cities, hot-air balloons, tree-top towns and haunted houses. Trace your way through each maze, spot the clues and solve the extra mystery challenges along the way. 

Pierre the Maze Detective is actually the most adorable children's book I've ever laid my eyes on. The illustrations and colours are so simplistic yet I'm still awestruck every time I open this book.

At first I thought this was a Where's Wally's book but oh I was wrong. There is so much to do, even after weeks of having this book I still haven't even been able to complete all of the different landscapes. So what you're meant to do is try and find a route out of the scene that you've been given, may it be the sea, a castle, the forest, a cafe, etc. But you also have extra challenges that you have to complete like in the cafe scene you have to find a pickpocket, you know little things like that. BUT I'M BLOODY OBSESSED! Wait, there's still more. You've also got to find other numerous hidden objects. Basically this is Where's Wally with a lot more instructions on things you can find and I love it.

The colours are gorgeous and the illustrations are marvellous. I believe some call this the Japanese version of Where's Wally and I can understand that but there's something about this book that just feels even more lovable. I am a teenager, I have to study but this has literally taken over my life at points. I know, it's a terrible addiction. (I think I'm secretly using this as an outlet for procrastination.)

Overall I would highly recommend Pierre the Maze Detective for anyone; any age; any where, because come on? Who doesn't secretly love these engaging children's activities books? Exactly, the answer is no one. This book is perfect if you want to give it to a child to keep them entertained, or if you're just like me and still love the idea of completing a quest. Pierre the Maze Detective is for you, my friend.
Rating
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Friday, 9 October 2015

My review of Secret Garden - Artist's Edition by Johanna Basford

Secret Garden - Artist's Edition by Johanna Basford
Release Date: September 15, 2015.
Amazon UK |

From the publisher that brought you the hugely successful Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest - this special artist's edition features 20 beautiful, pull-out art prints for coloring in. Colouring fans of all ages will enjoy immersing themselves in a selection of the most popular artworks from the original book, now presented in a new, large-scale format for maximum coloring enjoyment.


Each detailed illustration is printed on high-quality card, and can be removed easily for framing or craft projects.

I simply don't know where to begin! Secret Garden is a beautiful colouring book with so many stunning illustrations that will blow you away. What's great about this Artist's Edition is that you can pull out and frame your work. The quality of the book is amazing and when I first started colouring it in I put a lot of pressure on my self to make a mind-blowing piece of art and this is how I got on.

This book is perfect for de stressing. I enjoyed blending colours and really bringing the image to life. In my spare time I have done small elements of the piece and hopefully one day soon it will be finished. There's 20 prints in this whole book, isn't that crazy? I didn't expect to fall in love with it as much as I have. The illustrations have captivated me every time I've flicked through the book. I honestly can't wait to hang them all up.

I would definitely recommend this book if you enjoy colouring in and want something that could be seen as age-flexible. Anyone could love this book! It brings to light that colouring isn't just for children, it can be enjoyable and therapeutic for adults too! I'm so in love and will relish in the day that I can see these on my walls. No, no I'm not joking.

I've done a little bit of research and found that there's a whole series of these beauties; there's "Lost Ocean" and "Enchanted Forest". So if this particular theme doesn't take your fancy there's still more you can choose from ORRRR if you like them all and want to take extreme colouring up as a hobby then go ahead and pick up all three! 

More images from the book:
Rating
 
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Devil and the Deep Release Day Party

Hey there!

Today is the release day of Devil and the Deep by Megan Tayte, this is the fourth book in the Cerulean series. 
Release Day: September 30, 2015
STORM CLOUDS ARE GATHERING, AND THEY WILL RAIN BLOOD. 
Scarlett is living her happy-ever-after, back in the real world. Only the ‘happy’ part is proving problematic.
For starters, there’s the isolation. Being a Cerulean among humans is fraught with risk, so her time with people can only be fleeting. Which means being with Luke but not being with Luke.
Then there’s her Cerulean light, her power over life and death. Less awesome talent, as it turns out, and more overwhelming responsibility. And it comes with rules – rules that are increasingly difficult to obey.
But what’s really pushing Scarlett to the precipice is something much bigger than herself, than her life in the cove. A force to be reckoned with:
Blood.
When long-buried truths are exposed, will Scarlett keep her head above water – or will she drown in the blood-dimmed tide that is unleashed?
---------------------------------
You can buy Devil and the Deep at: Amazon UK, Amazon, The Book Depository

About the Author:
Once upon a time a little girl told her grandmother that when she grew up she wanted to be a writer. Or a lollipop lady. Or a fairy princess fireman. ‘Write, Megan,’ her grandmother advised. So that’s what she did.

Thirty-odd years later, Megan is a professional writer and published author by day, and an indie novelist by night. Her fiction – young adult romance with soul – recently earned her the SPR’s Independent Woman Author of the Year award.

Megan grew up in the Royal County, a hop, skip and a (very long) jump from Windsor Castle, but these days she makes her home in Robin Hood's county, Nottinghamshire. She lives with her husband, a proud Scot who occasionally kicks back in a kilt; her son, a budding artist with the soul of a palaeontologist; and her baby daughter, a keen pan-and-spoon drummer who sings in her sleep. When she's not writing, you'll find her walking someplace green, reading by the fire, or creating carnage in the kitchen as she pursues her impossible dream: of baking something edible.

You can find Megan at:
http://megantayte.com/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13478850.Megan_Tayte
https://www.facebook.com/megantayte
https://twitter.com/megantayte
https://plus.google.com/+MeganTayte

----------------------------------
Megan is also running a giveaway for a tote bag so make sure you enter that in the Rafflecopter below.
Have a good day!
Sam

Monday, 14 September 2015

My review of I Was Here

I Was Here by Gayle Forman
Release Date: January 29, 2015

I Was Here
This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend's shocking suicide.

As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness. 

I Was Here left me feeling underwhelmed. I was expecting a lot more than what this book had to offer especially from the author of such stunning and memorable books like If I Stay and Where She Went. I started reading with high expectations and the thought that this book will leave an impression on me like the previous books had. However after giving the story a good go I could just feel my engagement slipping away and feel the boredom creeping in.

The story is about a girl called Cody who loses her best friend Meg. Meg committed suicide leaving nothing but one last scheduled email and Cody can't figure out why she couldn't see the signs. Therefore she embarks on an investigation to find out what led Meg to take such extreme actions. It all sounds quite interesting and exciting, right? Well for me that wasn't the case. The main character built up the personality of her friend as "one of a kind", "unique", basically someone that you would be lucky to have known, but I didn't really feel any of this coming through. The voice of Cody felt dull and unconvincing. It led to me not being able to engage with her and her memory of Meg.

Overall, I now don't remember clearly what I was expecting from this book, but whatever this was wasn't it. I know this story won't stay in my mind for very long and I would preferably like to forget about it. Gayle Forman is a very good writer and this shows in her previous books including Just One Day and Just One Year, this story just simply was not for me. The characters were not for me. And the whole journey of the novel wasn't for me. 
Rating

Sunday, 13 September 2015

Celebrating International Literacy Day

Hey there!

I was approached by Grammarly to join in with their literacy campaign for International Literacy Day. They've provided me with an info graphic containing some very intriguing facts about the topic.

I hope you found those figures as interesting and intriguing as I did. You can check out Grammarly's International Literacy Day post here!

Have a great day!
Sam :)

Saturday, 12 September 2015

Book Haul (#106)

Hey,

I hope you've all enjoyed the summer! There's so many great books out and so many more to come so please recommend me any in the comments that I must get my hands on immediately.


These past couple of weeks I have received, bought and borrowed:
Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)The Heir (The Selection, #4)
Six Of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo - Received
Thank you so much to the publisher for sending me an advanced copy of this book! Who didn't love the Grisha trilogy? I was one of many who couldn't resist it's charm and now I can't wait to sink my teeth into this one.
The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass - Borrowed -
Surprised that the story didn't stop with The One, but I've already finished this book and it's okay as a follow up story.
Every Last Breath (The Dark Elements, #3)
Every Last Breath (The Dark Elements #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout - Bought
Yes, yes, yes! Finished it already and couldn't be happier. Look out for my review.
Secret Garden - Artist's Edition by Johanna Basford - Received -
A big thank you to Midas Public Relations for sending me this gorgeous copy! I shall be reviewing soon for you all. 

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)The Cursed Ones (Crusade, #1)
Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas - Received -
All I can say is: YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS PLEAAAAAAAAAASEEEE.
The Cursed Ones (Crusade #1) by Nancy Holder - Bought -
This book was on sale for £1.50 in WHSmiths and I knew I had to snap it up. I love a good book about hunters because it just reminds me of Supernatural and that brings up a whole load of good feels for me!

Leave a link to you Book Haul, Stacking the Shelves, Letterbox Love, In My Mailbox in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a lovely weekend,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 9 September 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (165)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Wild Crush (Wild Cards, #2)
Wild Crush (Wild Cards #2) by Simone Elkeles
Release Date:
September 22, 2015
When the only girl you want is the one you can't have... 

Bad boy Vic Salazar breaks all the rules except one: Don't make a move on your best friend's girl. It’s a Guy Code that Vic lives by. It doesn't matter that he's had a crush on her for years. Monika Fox is off limits. 

Monika has a secret of her own and when a tragedy throws her and Vic together, the only boy she trusts is the one she shouldn’t confide in. Vic. 

As Vic struggles to keep his distance, and Monika struggles with her secrets, will their wild connection violate every rule both vowed never to break—about relationships, about friendship, about love?

Simone Elkeles is a staple comtemporary author for me and she never fails to deliver an entertaining and gripping book. I adored Wild Cards, also known as Better Than Perfect in the UK, and I know that she won't let us down with this companion novel in the series!

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (164)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Ash & Bramble
Release Date: September 15, 2015
When the glass slipper just doesn’t fit…

The tale of Cinderella has been retold countless times. But what you know is not the true story.

Pin has no recollection of who she is or how she got to the Godmother’s fortress. She only knows that she is a Seamstress, working day in and out to make ball gowns fit for fairy tales. But she longs to forsake her backbreaking servitude and dares to escape with the brave young Shoemaker.

Pin isn’t free for long before she’s captured again and forced to live the new life the Godmother chooses for her—a fairy tale story, complete with a charming prince—instead of finding her own happily ever after.

Sarah Prineas’s bold fairy tale retelling is a dark and captivating world where swords are more fitting than slippers, young shoemakers are just as striking as princes, and a heroine is more than ready to rescue herself before the clock strikes midnight.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 27 July 2015

My review of The Declaration

The Declaration (The Declaration #1) by Gemma Malley
Release Date: November 8, 2012 (New edition)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


The Declaration (The Declaration, #1)Anna Covey is a ‘Surplus’. She should not have been born. In a society in which ageing is no longer feared, and death is no longer an inevitability, children are an abomination.

Like all Surpluses, Anna is living in a Surplus Hall and learning how to make amends for the selfish act her parents committed in having her. She is quietly accepting of her fate until, one day, a new inmate arrives. Anna’s life is thrown into chaos. But is she brave enough to believe this mysterious boy?

A tense and utterly compelling story about a society behind a wall, and the way in which two young people seize the chance to break free.

The Declaration is the first book in the startlingly gripping dystopian trilogy. I was hooked from the beginning and I can't believe I hadn't read this sooner! Make sure you read this trilogy if you want to experience a unique dystopia world that is easy to fall into but hard to escape from.

The novel is set in the future in the UK where a drug called 'Longevity' has been created to stop ageing. Since everyone is not ageing, the society can not handle a population growth, which means all of the Surpluses, illegal children born, have to be sent to a Surplus Hall, where they learn to be useful to a world that they shouldn't have been born into. Anna has been living in Surplus Hall since she was young, believing that she was put in there for the selfish act her parent commented in having her. But when a new boy arrives and claims to know her parents and the world outside, she doesn't know whether to believe him or stay away.

The Declaration was an exciting read that I didn't want to put down. The premise was extremely interesting and unique. My dystopian loving friends, this book is very well written with surprises and a cute romance to go with it, and everything you could want in an awesome book. Who wouldn't want to read about two teenagers trying to escape and find the truth in a world full of lies and ruled by a pill that will make you live forever?

At first, I had a hard time trying to connect with the main character, Anna, who wouldn't open her eyes, or mind, to anything that Peter, the new boy at Surplus hall, was trying to tell her. I did feel frustrated at times with her indecisive personality and I really wanted to hit her head with a stick and knock some sense into her. As for Peter, I fell in love with his shy and boyish charm from the beginning! He is lovely character that I would love to meet in real life.  

image
There were plenty of mysteries to solve and characters to learn about. I could not put the book down once I really got into it. The Declaration ended brilliantly, and I can tell that the sequel, The Resistance, is going to be even better! A series full of action, mystery and romance, how could you possibly resist?
Rating

A review copy was provided by the publisher

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (163)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?
This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles and I need to tell you all now in case you don't know that... THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVOURITE SERIES EVER! I also featured this book in my Books I'm So Excited For I Can't Even Breathe post. So I'm pretty pumped. It's going to be amazing and if you haven't read the books yet I would strongly recommend that you check them out.

Reviews: Cinder (#1), Scarlet (#2), Cress (#3)

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 20 July 2015

My review of The Stars Never Rise

The Stars Never Rise (Untitled #1) by Rachel Vincent
Release Date: June 18, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


The Stars Never RiseIn the town of New Temperance, souls are in short supply and Nina should be worrying about protecting hers. Yet she’s too busy trying to keep her sister Mellie safe.

When Nina discovers that Mellie is keeping a secret that threatens their existence, she’ll do anything to protect her. Because in New Temperance, sins are prosecuted as crimes by the brutal church.

To keep them both alive, Nina will need to trust Finn, a mysterious fugitive who has already saved her life once. Wanted by the church and hunted by dark forces, Nina knows she needs Finn and his group of rogue friends.

But what do they need from her in return?

I devoured The Stars Never Rise in a matter of hours! I quickly fell into Vincent's writing style that I grew to love in her Soul Screamers series and I simply did not want to put this book down. This book is about demons and how they possess humans and slowly devour their soul set in a world where souls are running out for new lives. This world is also run by The Unified Church who punish and make examples of those who don't fit the rules that they set. To have a world run by religion was a very interesting concept. In no way was this book preaching religion at all, it simply added to the plot of the story, which I loved.

Nina is the protagonist of the story and I found her an enjoyable character to read about. She's another badass female character that just grows on you very quickly. Nina is practically the parent in her family; her dad is no where around and her mother is a drug addict that hardly cares what her two daughters gets up to. Nina has to care for her sister Mellie, but when it comes to light that her sister has heavily gone against the rules set by the church, neither one of the sisters are safe. That is when Finn is introduced. Gah, Finn. 

I'll put it out there now that there is not enough in the book to fully fall in love with the character of Finn but you can see that there is so much potential for him. He and Nina instantly click and they made me laugh more times that I can count. Finn is a complex character with aspects that you unravel quite earlier on in the book but I don't want to ruin anything so I will keep it all hushhush.

I did love the paranormal excitement that The Stars Never Rise had to offer, I only hope that the next book delves into the characters and their relationships a bit more. I'm craving some Finn time. This book could still be perceived as a good start to the series. The Soul Screamers series got better and better with every book so I'm predicting for that to happen here too.
Rating

Sunday, 19 July 2015

Book Haul (#105)

Hey,

I hope you've all had a great week! I certainly have, I've managed to find such great books and I am completely PUMPED!

This week I bought, received and borrowed:
Origin (Corpus, #1)The Catastrophic History of You and Me
Origin (Corpus #1) by Jessica Khoury - Bought
This was £1 in the pound shop. I could not even believe my eyes! It's a US hardback as well so this was basically one dollar-ish. Crazycrazycrazy. I can't wait to read this it's about genetic modification 
The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg - Bought
This was also in the pound shop and it is also a US hardback. Talk about lucky finds! I've actually already read this, maybe two years back but I'd love to refresh my mind. It's about a girl who had her heart broken and her heart literally broke so she died. Lovely. 
Life & Laughing: My StoryThe Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #3)
Life and Laughing by Michael McIntyre - Bought -
I don't usually read autobiographies but Michael McIntyre is one of my favourite comedians ever and I knew I had to read this at some point. I'm a few chapters in and it's absolutely hilarious. 
The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin - Borrowed -
It has been 3 long years of waiting for this book and I can't believe I've waited so long since the release date to pick this up. I think I was probably scared because I honestly don't remember all that much about the first two books The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Evolution of Mara Dyer, but I do remember loving them immensely! I may need to give them a quick read to refresh my memory because I am very excited to see how it will all end.
Lying Out Loud
Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger - Received -
Thank you Hachette Children's Books! I've loved all of the books in this Hamilton High series and I know that I will slowly fall for this one as well. I'm looking forward to the appearances of previous characters.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday/Stacking the Shelves in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (162)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Dangerous Lies
Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.


As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks… 

Becca Fitzpatrick is a really good author and she hasn't written anything yet that I haven't enjoyed. I loved her thriller Black Ice so I know that I am going to enjoy this one also. Definitely check out her Hush, Hush series if you want a gripping paranormal story to read!
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 13 July 2015

My review of Echo Boy

Echo Boy by Matt Haig
Release Date: March 26, 2015 
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Echo BoyAudrey's father taught her that to stay human in the modern world, she had to build a moat around herself; a moat of books and music, philosophy and dreams. A moat that makes Audrey different from the echoes: sophisticated, emotionless machines, built to resemble humans and to work for human masters. Daniel is an echo - but he's not like the others. He feels a connection with Audrey; a feeling Daniel knows he was never designed to have, and cannot explain. And when Audrey is placed in terrible danger, he's determined to save her. The Echo Boy is a powerful story about love, loss and what makes us truly human. 

Echo Boy is a fascinating and intriguing read that will challenge you to think about the extent at which we should use artificial intelligence. I enjoyed the split point of views of both Audrey, a teenage girl who's just had her parents murdered by an echo (a robot), and Daniel, an echo who can feel and experience the world like no other echo can. Both of them are used to explore the magnificent world of technology as well as to find answers to what really happened to Audrey's parents.

The storyline will hook you in as secrets begin to unravel quite early on in the book and continue to throughout. This sci-fi read felt refreshing and delivered such a unique world that was so exciting to explore. I've never come across a book like it! There's actually a TV show on Channel 4 (in the UK) called Humans that this reminded me a lot of. So if you can you should definitely check out the programme because it's really similar to the book in how robots are used everywhere in society and there are some exceptions where the human-like robots have been able to feel and this can threaten the human race entirely. Well now that I think about it the overall concept of the show and the book are the same really. 

I'm actually quite sad that this is a standalone novel because I feel like there's so much more that could be expanded and explained, however I'll try to be happy with where it all ended. 

Echo Boy will draw you in before you know it! I wasn't too keen on Audrey at the beginning but I was spurred on because I wanted, no NEEDED, my questions to be answered. Audrey's parents' death was a mystery that was so unusual and intriguing I had to find out more.The story eventually comes together and overall I loved what it had to offer. Don't skip this one if you love a good sci-fi.
Rating

Sunday, 12 July 2015

Book Haul (#104)

Hey,

This week I received and borrowed:
The Stars Never Rise (Untitled Series, #1)I'll Give You the Sun
The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent - Borrowed -
I adored Rachel Vincent's Soul Screamers series and I knew that I had to keep an eye out for more of her YA novels. I'm about 70 pages in and I'm hooked! 
Previous reviews: My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers #4), If I Die (Soul Screamers #5), Before I Wake (Soul Screamers #6), With All My Soul (Soul Screamers #7)
I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson - Borrowed -
Jandy Nelson completely blew me away with The Sky is Everywhere when I read it years and years ago so I'm really glad she finally has another book out. It sounds like the perfect summer contemporary read.
The Edge of the Shadows (Whidbey Island Saga, #3)
The Edge of the Shadows (Whidbey Island Saga #3) by Elizabeth George - Received -
Thank you Hodder and Stoughton! I haven't heard of this series before but I read the blurb for this book and it sounded super intriguing so I may have to do some searching up for the first two books.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday/Stacking the Shelves in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 8 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (161)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)
Release Date: January 5, 2016
On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 6 July 2015

My review of A Little Something Different

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
Release Date:
August 26, 2014

Goodreads Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


A Little Something DifferentThe creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship. 

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together....

When I was reading the blurb for this book all I could think was: doesn't this sound so weirdly amazing? I loved the idea of reading a love story that wasn't told from the actual people falling in love's point of view. I ended up reading this in one sitting on the plane from Spain to the UK and I can tell you now that I've never enjoyed a plane journey more! 

So the book is told from 14 points of view ranging from a class mate to a certain moany bench that made me laugh all the way through! It was really interesting to see the signs of people falling for each other from an outsider's perspective. A Little Something Different will make you laugh, smile, and root for two people to get together like you never have done before! This love story of Lea and Gabe was absolutely torturous because you can see their chemistry (the Starbucks' baristas can feel it from all the way across the room) and yet they tiptoe around each other so cautiously. This book will definitely inspire you to embrace your chances at love!

A Little Something Different is short, sweet and the perfect book for you to dip your toes into this summer if you want a contemporary novel that will endlessly make you smile. Yes, I did get frustrated with the main characters because they are both super shy, which didn't really make their romance advance at a very fast pace, but it all adds to the story's charm I guess. I would definitely recommend to try out this book if you want to try a love story with "something different" because I've never read anything like it!
Rating

Wednesday, 1 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (160)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Every Last Breath
Release Date: August 1, 2015
Some loves will last ’til your dying breath

Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust.

Layla has a new problem, too. A Lilin—the deadliest of demons—has been unleashed, wreaking havoc on those around her…including her best friend. To keep Sam from a fate much, much worse than death, Layla must strike a deal with the enemy while saving her city—and her race—from destruction.

Torn between two worlds and two different boys, Layla has no certainties, least of all survival, especially when an old bargain comes back to haunt them all. But sometimes, when secrets are everywhere and the truth seems unknowable, you have to listen to your heart, pick a side—and then fight like hell… 

Jennifer L. Armentrout honestly kills me sometimes, you know? I feel like this trilogy has taken my breath away once again. I always expect to be drawn in more by the idea of the love story than the actual plot line but this story has honestly been able to keep me hooked all round. I love the gargoyles and the demons and it's just AHHHHH! I cannot wait for this book! Definitely leave your thoughts on whether Layla will go with Roth or Zayne because I'm seriously torn.

Previous reviews: White Hot Kiss (#1), Stone Cold Touch (#2)

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 29 June 2015

My review of Because You'll Never Meet Me

Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
Release Date:
July 2, 2015

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Because You'll Never Meet MeOllie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

Because You'll Never Meet Me is a touching story of two boys who bond over their exceptional conditions that mean they are unable to fit into society. The book is told from two points of view: Ollie and Moritz. Ollie lives deep in the woods, isolated from the modern world of technology because he is allergic to electricity. He can't live a normal life but he tries his best to remain upbeat and optimistic. I really enjoyed his voice in the story because despite having such a sad and life altering condition, he is able to see the bright side in any situation. As for Moritz, he is a little bit older than Ollie and lives in Germany. He was born without eyes and depends on his incredible sense of hearing to get by his daily life. Moritz is quite proper and refuses to try and confront his fears. Both of the boys learn to confide in each other and what it really means to have a friend. 

I was really touched by the letters sent between the boys all through out the book. Aside from the two telling each other their stories and day-to-day lives, we are also presented with the mystery of how on earth Ollie and Moritz ended up with their conditions. I felt that this spurred on the plot and added a interesting twist on the boys' relationship. You'll no doubt want to make it to the very end of the novel in one sitting to see how both Ollie and Mortiz turn out because throughout the book you are really left wondering what can be done to help these two poor souls?

Overall, I would definitely recommend this novel if you're looking for a contemporary that is a bit different and has unique characters that you will get to know better through the form of letters. Some people may not find the characters that gripping or exciting to start off with and occasionally their personal stories may not seem that captivating, but you the two boys really grow on you and before you know it, you're in love with both of them.

Rating

A review copy was provided by the publisher

Sunday, 28 June 2015

Book Haul (#103)

Hey,

I'm back! I hope you guys have all been enjoying the summer weather. I finished my exams and I've had a short holiday to relax so I'm really going to try and get some good posts up because I think I have missed doing this whole blogging business. ;)

This week I borrowed:
Echo BoyI Was Here
Echo Boy by Matt Haig - Borrowed -
This reminds me of that new TV show on Channel 4 called Humans, which is amazing if you haven't started watching it yet! I've heard only good things about the author's writing style so I wanted to give it a go.
I Was Here by Gayle Forman - Borrowed -
I do love Gayle Forman and the way she builds up a story. If I Stay and Where She Went were absolute amazing while Just One Day didn't fall too far behind, but I wasn't too big of a fan of Just One Year. I can't wait to read this purely because I know it's gonna be a good emotional story to pluck at my heart strings.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday/Stacking the Shelves in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (159)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Made for You
Release Date: March 25, 2015
Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover an attempt has been made on her life. But who in her sleepy town could have hit her with their car? And why? Before she can consider the question, she finds that she's awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her.

While she is recovering from the hit-and-run, Nate, an old friend, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep her friends - and themselves – alive. But the killer is obsessed and will stop at nothing to get to Eva… 

I love a mystery! And I have to say I've missed Melissa Marr. It's been a long time since Wicked Lovely and I did adore those books.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 3 June 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (158)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Dreamstrider
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Livia is a dreamstrider. She can inhabit a subject's body while they are sleeping and, for a short time, move around in their skin. She uses her talent to work as a spy for the Barstadt Empire. But her partner, Brandt, has lately become distant, and when Marez comes to join their team from a neighborhing kingdom, he offers Livia the option of a life she had never dared to imagine. Livia knows of no other dreamstriders who have survived the pull of Nightmare. So only she understands the stakes when a plot against the Empire emerges that threatens to consume both the dreaming world and the waking one with misery and rage.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D